Nitro Thunder National Records



IHRA Australia would like to thank all competitors who competed at the Gulf Western Oils Nitro Thunder event held at Sydney Dragway on the 5th and 6th of May 2017.

In what turned out to be one of the hottest contested events run in Australia, Personal Best performances were achieved throughout the whole of qualifying in ALL classes, with the trend continuing into Eliminations.

National Records were set in Modified Eliminator with both the A/MA and A/MD records being re-written. Congratulations to Chris Manks / Michael Stower in there 6 second Altered, and Simon Barlow from South Australia re-setting both the ET and MPH records in there Modified Rear Engine Dragster.

Group 2 saw some records tumble over the weekend as well. Clint George B/APA, John Kuiper C/G and Peter Puznik B/AB (Peter Puznik the first 7 second all motor No Bar pass in the country) and congratulations to Leonard Azzopardi for the first 200 MPH – No Bar motorcycle pass in the country.

Pro Categories saw Brad Lemberg destroy one of the oldest records left in a Pro Category, with John Zappia again setting new standards with a new world record.

IHRA Australia would also like to congratulate Sydney Dragway and its entire staff on the running of a successful 400 Thunder National Championship round.